King Edward VII Cup 

Ten years after the foundation of the Royal Life Saving Society in 1891 our first Royal Patron, King Edward VII, presented a cup to the Society for an international competition. The first of these was held in 1903 and was won by a team from the English Amateur Swimming Association. 

Later, the basis of the competition was altered to meet changing patterns of lifesaving activity and organisation. In 1985 the Commonwealth Council endorsed the retention of the King Edward VII Cup and invited Member Branches to nominate a person making an outstanding contribution to lifesaving. The first winner thereafter was George Turnbull from Australia. 

The award was made every five years until recently, when it was agreed that nominations would be invited for a member of the RLSS throughout the Commonwealth (i.e. not just National Branch Members) on a two yearly basis. 

Recipients of the King Edward VII Cup are: 

(Please click on the recipient’s name for details of their contribution): 

2020 Dr Stephen Beerman Lifesaving Society Canada 
 2018 HRH Prince Michael of Kent GCVO RLSS President 
 2016 Professor John Pearn, AO, RFD RLSS Australia 
 2009 Neville Bayfield OAM 
John Long 
RLSS Australia 
Commonwealth Headquarters 
 2006 Dr Anthony Handley MD FRCP RLSS UK 
 2001 Dato’ Teoh Teik Lee DSPN AMN DJN 
Dr Ian Mackie AM FRACP 
Life Saving Society of Malaysia 
RLSS Australia 
 1996 Brian Morrissey OBE QPM RLSS UK 
 1991 Stuart Nicol QSO MBE RLSS New Zealand 
 1986 George Turnbull OAM RLSS Australia