Russell Medal

The Russell Medal was established in 2000 as a tribute to Pat Russell, a long-time member of the Royal Life Saving Society.

Pat’s sudden and unexpected death was a great sadness to everyone in the Society. However, her legacy is an annual award for the most outstanding resuscitation or attempted resuscitation performed during the previous calendar year by a person under 21 years of age, who is a citizen of a Commonwealth Country.

Recipients of the Russell Medal are (please click recipient name for details of their rescue):

2022 Noah Winders (Ireland)

2019 Megan Larmour  (Australia)

2018 Sarah Downs  (UK)

2017  Stanley McFarlane  (Australia)

2016  Tanner Gorille  (South Africa)

2015 Tyler Bailer  (Canada)

2013 Brittany Sherwood  (Canada)

2012  Samantha Hobbs  (UK)

2010  Jamie Hemingway  (UK)

2009  Harry Evans  (UK)

2008  William Ayres  (UK)

2007 Lachlan Nally  (Australia)

2006 Charlotte Haining  (UK)

2005  David Kerr  (Canada)

2004  Richard Bailey  (UK)

2003 Samantha Powell  (UK)

2002  Michael Collins and Tracey Metekingi (New Zealand)

2001  Gareth and Carys Dixon (UK)

2000  Jemima Lorde (St Lucia)