All RLSS Honours and Awards

Members of The Royal Life Saving Society give their time, energy and expertise to combat drowning prevention in the Commonwealth.  It’s thanks to their efforts in fundraising, education and the passing on of vital skills that many lives are saved and potential disasters avoided.

Commonwealth Honours are awarded to individuals and organisations in recognition of their invaluable contribution to the work of the RLSS. Whilst the honours system is intended to recognise the work of volunteers, members of staff could, if applicable, receive the Commonwealth Service Order.

Honours available for Individuals – Volunteers

Certificate of Thanks
Commonwealth Headquarters Commendation
Service Commendation
Service Medal & Bar to Service Medal
Service Cross & Bar to Service Cross
Commonwealth Honorary Life Member
Commonwealth Honorary Life Governor
Commonwealth Vice President
Young Lifesaver of the Year

Honours available for Organisations
Certificate of Thanks
Commonwealth President’s Award

Honours available for Staff Members/Professional Officers
Commonwealth Service Order

Additional awards available for Service
King Edward VII Cup
HRH Prince Michael of Kent Certificate of Merit (Service)

Full details on Society Honours can be found in the Society’s Honours and Awards Manual

Please use the Commonwealth Honours Nomination Form to make a nomination, which must then be submitted to RLSS via your National Branch Head Office.