Mountbatten Medal

The Mountbatten Medal was instituted in 1951 by the Society’s then Grand President, The Earl of Mountbatten of Burma.

The Mountbatten Medal is awarded annually for the most gallant rescue or rescue attempt undertaken in the previous year (1st January-31st December), by an individual who has taken Royal Life Saving Society training, or holds or has held a lifesaving award delivered by a Royal Life Saving Society Member Organisation. The rescue or rescue attempt must be made by a citizen from a Commonwealth Nation but can be undertaken in any country throughout the world.

Recent recipients of the Mountbatten Medal are (please click on the recipient’s name for details of their rescue):

2022Kalya Kandegoda GamageSri Lanka
2021Dax LambSouth Africa
2020Conor PowerIreland
2019Clifford Coombe South Africa
2018Matthew Maroun South Africa
2017 Terrane Hinds Barbados
2016Andrew Pearson Canada
2015Zac Dominique St Lucia
2014Tamara Loiselle Canada
2013Not Awarded
2012Not Awarded
2011Mohamad Reshad Fatehmamode Mauritius
2010Not awarded
2009Andrew Hunt United Kingdom
2008Tristan KennettUnited Kingdom
2007Corey Wood  Canada
2006Aaron Dinham United Kingdom
2005Kathaluwa YasarathnaSri Lanka
2004Shri Gajanan Ravikant Bhokare India
2003Simon WoodrowUnited Kingdom
2002Lee WarrenerUnited Kingdom
2001Not awarded
2000Not awarded
1999Marc RogersVanessa BaileyUnited KingdomCanada
1998Michael WilsonNew Zealand
1997Not awarded
1996Doug TrentowskyCanada
1995Yasith De SilvaSri Lanka
1994Not awarded
1993Jacques Patrice LeclairMauritius
1992Not awarded
1991Ken Oswald MayerBarbados
1990Not awarded
1989Philip CassidyScotland
1988Penny ClaytonNew Zealand
1987Not awarded
1986Not awarded
1985Holly PhillipsEngland
1984Not awarded
1983Patrick AbramEngland
1982Kenneth RaynorEngland
1981Evan Franklin DaviesWales
1980John PottsNorthern Ireland
1979Patrick FargeNew Zealand
1978George Geddes ParsonageScotland
1977Pauline McCleanScotland
1976Patrick McMahonNorthern Ireland
1975Gordon PennerCanada
1974Bernard RobinsEngland
1973Not awarded
1972David John RoweEngland
1971Kenneth Grant RobsonAustralia
1970Dorothy Patricia PopeEngland
1969Ronald HeslopScotland
1968Barry McNeilNew Zealand
1967Manasa Koroi VatulokaFiji
1966Jack EastonScotland
1965Terrence ScorerAustralia
1964Lynda DannCanada
1963Kenneth HowlettCanada
1962Hilary WestermanEngland
1961Dennis McLellanAustralia
1960David TaylorEngland
1959Richard CookeEngland
1958Duncan McLean CampbellEngland
1957Peter CritchleyEngland
1956Bernard LitwackEngland
1955Neville Maier and Frederick PotgieterSouth Africa
1954Francis Koh Teck ChongMalaysia
1953Sybil HigginsNorthern Ireland
1952Sally JuppEngland
1951Robert WardleCanada